Review

The Many Faces of Givenchy Birds of Paradise

31st May 2012
Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com – Instagram: mauricelwx (Me trying out the Givenchy Birds of Paradise in Hankyu 阪急 Men’s Tokyo)
Source: Retail Design Blog – Givenchy Hankyu 阪急 Men’s Tokyo Store (Yes please! I’ll be more than happy to buy everything off that rack! =D)
I can’t seem to describe in words just how much I love this collection. When I first saw the Givenchy SS12 Birds of Paradise during Fashion Week a year ago, I was doubtful that I would find anything that I like since the whole collection looks exactly as what Riccardo Tisci did in the past few seasons but only did a few tweaks on the collection and added a new print design. It was disappointing for me at that time, since I had to stay up and watch it live at midnight in Australia and that I did not find anything that truly inspires me or has attracted any of my attention.
Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Trying on a Oversize M – XXL in Isetan 伊勢丹 Shinjuku, pull’s excess from behind to see how it looks if it’s fitted.)
Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Love at first sight in Isetan 伊勢丹 Shinjuku, Price – ¥69,300 tax. incl)
But as I journey through Spring Summer this year, the more I see the Givenchy Birds of Paradise, the more I want it. My love at first sight on the Birds of Paradise occurred during the Easter holidays when I was traveling in Tokyo with my girlfriend. The aqua (mint) green Givenchy Birds of Paradise Mirror T-Shirt was folded and displayed on a table, it was very distinctive since it was the only merchandise in store with the full-on Birds of Paradise print. Immediately in my mind I was desperate and ready to purchase, but the friendly store assistant in Isetan Shinjuku told me it was not for sale. The Birds of Paradise T-Shirt was just a display unit/ an early preview for customers like me to try and pre-order.

Official launch of the Birds of Paradise collection in Japan was 12 April 2012, 4 days ahead and my flight home was the next day. There was only one display piece in a Oversize M, which is equivalent to a regular XXL! Although I swum in it, seeing it in person made the print much more desirable. After that experience, I told myself if I ever get the chance to buy one, I will.

Fashion

Paris & Milan Menswear Spring Summer 2013 Fashion Week Schedule

30th May 2012
Fashion Week in Paris and Milan is coming soon (Spring Summer 2013)
The most exciting month in the fashion world is about to begin. The end of season sales has already started, some online retailers did an extra mark down from 30% to 40% today! Retailers around the world are about to start taking pre-orders for the Pre-Fall Winter 2012 and Fall Winter 2012 collection. June 2012 will probably be the most interesting month for me. Despite having end of semester exams the following month, my enthusiasm and eagerness can’t resist to catch up with Fashion Week!
Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Photo taken by me in Paris, August 2008)
FRANCE – Paris Menswear Spring Summer 2013 Fashion Week Schedule
Wednesday, June 27, 2012

14.30 CEST / 8:30am EST – Tillmann Lauterbach, TBC
15.30 CEST / 9:30am EST – Hardy Amies, TBC
16.30 CEST / 10:30am EST – Y. Project by Yohan Serfaty, TBC
17.30 CEST / 11:30am EST – John Lawrence Sullivan, Maison des Metallos, salle noire, 94 rue Jean-Pierre Timbaud, 11e
18.30 CEST / 12:30pm EST – Mugler, Espace Commins, 17 rue Commines, 3e
19.30 CEST / 1:30pm EST – Christian Lacroix Homme, rue Charlot, 3e
20.30 CEST / 2:30pm EST – Raf Simons



Thursday, June 28, 2012

9:30 CEST / 3:30am EST – 3.1 Phillip Lim, Palais de Tokyo
10:30 CEST / 4:30am EST – Kolor, Garage Turenne, 66 rue de la Turenne, 3e
11:30 CEST / 5:30am EST – Issey Miyake, TBC
12:30 CEST / 6:30am EST – Rick Owens, POPB, salle Marcel Cerdan, porte 28, 8 blvd de Bercy, 12e
13:30 CEST / 7:30am EST – Walter Van Beirendonck, TBC
14:30 CEST / 8:30am EST – Louis Vuitton
16:00 CEST / 10:00am EST – Viktor & Rolf Monsieur, Galerie de Mineralogie due Museum National d’Histoire Naturelle, 18 rue Buffon, 5e
17:00 CEST / 11:00am EST – Jean Paul Gaultier, 325 rue Saint-Martin, 3e
18:00 CEST / 12:00pm EST – Yohji Yamamoto, 155 rue Saint-Martin, 3e
19:00 CEST / 1:00pm EST – Dries Van Noten
20:00 CEST / 2:00pm EST – Adam Kimmel
21:00 CEST / 3:00pm EST – Henrik Vibskov, TBC
Friday, June 29, 2012

10:00 CEST / 4:00am EST – Junya Watanabe Man
11:00 CEST / 5:00am EST – Ann Demeulemeester, Couvet des Cordeliers
12:00 CEST / 6:00am EST – Julius, TBC
13:00 CEST / 7:00am EST – Gustavo Lins, rue Charlot, 3e
14:00 CEST / 8:00am EST – Juun J., Galerie de Mineralogie
15:00 CEST / 9:00am EST – Kris Van Assche, Garage Turenne, 66 rue de Turenne, 3e
16:00 CEST / 10:00am EST – Boris Bidjan Saberi, TBC
17:00 CEST / 11:00am EST – Comme des Garcons Homme Plus
18:00 CEST / 12:00pm EST – Givenchy
19:00 CEST / 1:00pm EST – John Galliano
20:00 CEST / 2:00pm EST – Berluti, TBC
Saturday, June 30, 2012

10:00 CEST / 4:00am EST – Bill Tornade, TBC
11:00 CEST / 5:00am EST – Kenzo
12:00 CEST / 6:00am EST – Maison Martin Margiela, Hotel Salomon de Rothschild
13:00 CEST / 7:00am EST – Berhard Willhelm, Palais Brongniart
14:00 CEST / 8:00am EST – Acne, TBC
15:00 CEST / 9:00am EST – Dior Homme
16:00 CEST / 10:00am EST – Wooyoungmi, Palais de Tokyo
17:00 CEST / 11:00am EST – Smalto, TBC
18:00 CEST / 12:00pm EST – MiharaYasuhiro, Halle Freyssinet, 55 blvd Vincent Auriol, 13e
19:00 CEST / 1:00pm EST – Damir Doma, Cite de la Mode et du Design, 34 quai d’Austerlitz, 13e
20:00 CEST / 2:00pm EST – Hermes
21:00 CEST / 3:00pm EST – Ami Alexandre Mattiussi, 5 rue des Ursulines, 5e

Sunday, July 1, 2012

10:00 CEST / 4:00am EST – Pierre Cardin, TBC
11:00 CEST / 5:00am EST – Lanvin
12:00 CEST / 6:00am EST – agnes b., TBC
13:00 CEST / 7:00am EST – No Editions, TBC
14:00 CEST / 8:00am EST – Rynshu, hôtel Westin, rue de Castiglione
15:00 CEST / 9:00am EST – Songzio, Garage Turenne, 66 rue de Turenne, 3e
16:00 CEST / 10:00am EST – Paul Smith, Lycée Carnot, 145 blvd Malhesherbes, 17e
17:00 CEST / 11:00am EST – Qasimi, Theatre de l’Odeon
18:00 CEST / 12:00pm EST – Thom Browne
19:00 CEST / 1:00pm EST – Arnys, TBC
Source: Nobuyuki Taguchi
ITALY – Milan Menswear Spring Summer 2012 Fashion Week Schedule
Saturday June 23rd

09:00 Corneliani Viale Alemagna, 6
10:00 Jil Sander Via Beltrami, 5
11:00 Ermenegildo Zegna Via Savona, 56
12:00 Ermenegildo Zegna Via Savona, 56
13:00 Costume National Homme Via Tortona, 58
14:30 Dolce & Gabbana Viale Piave, 24
15:30 Frankie Morello Via Palermo, 10
16:30 Burberry Prorsum Corso Venezia, 16
17:00 Les Hommes Corso Venezia, 47
18:00 John Varvatos Corso Italia, 21
19:00 Neil Barrett Location TBC*
20:00 Versace Via Gesu’, 12
20:30 Carlo Pignatelli Via Turati, 34
Sunday June 24th

09:30 Bottega Veneta Via Privata Ercole Marelli, 6
10:30 Ermanno Scervino Via San Luca, 3
11:30 Dirk Bikkembergs Viale Alemagna, 6
12:30 Salvatore Ferragamo Piazza Affari, 6
13:15 Roccobarocco Via Santo Spirito, 10
14:00 Calvin Klein Collection Viale Umbria, 37
15:00 Vivienne Westwood Via Melegari, 3
16:00 Daks Piazza Mercanti
17:00 Trussardi, Location TBC*
18:00 Prada Via Fogazzaro, 36 
19:00 Moncler Gamme Bleu Via Tortona, 58 
20:00 Roberto Cavalli Piazza Vetra, 7
Monday 25th June

09:30 Emporio Armani Via Bergognone, 59
10:30 Iceberg Via Palermo, 10
11:30 John Richmond Location TBC*
12:30 Gucci Piazza Oberdan, 2/B
14:00 Etro Via Piranesi, 14
15:00 Z Zegna Via Solari, 35
16:00 Canali Via Savona, 56
17:00 Umit Benan Location TBC*
18:00 Moschino Via Cino Del Duca, 8
19:00 Missoni Via Thaon De Revel, 21
20:00 Fendi Via Fabio Filzi, 22
Tuesday 26th June

09:30 Dsquared2 Via San Luca, 3 
10:30 Giorgio Armani Via Bergognone, 59
11:30 Diesel Black Gold Via Tortona, 58
12:30 Ports 1961 Via Stendhal, 35
13:30 Nicole Farhi Location Da Comunicare
13:30 Enrico Coveri Via Gaspare Bugatti, 9 
Fashion

Prada Brogue Espadrilles For Sale!

30th May 2012
I am selling two pairs of Prada Fall Winter 2011/12 Brogue Espadrilles Creepers. I have been collecting these shoes since the day they went outrageously famous in Spring Summer 2011. So far I have manage to collect a few runway prototypes, SS2011 and a few FW2011. However, my girlfriend is not very happy with my collection and told me that I should sell them off since I only wear my old ones (SS2011), and also I needed this money to buy a pair of Christian Louboutin shoes which I have been eyeing since 2010.
Anyways, here are two pairs of Prada Brogue Espadrilles that I pre-ordered from Prada Collins Street, Melbourne. It took them approximately 4 months to deliver me this two pairs of shoes since they were so immensely popular.
FOR SALE
1. Prada Fall Winter 2011/12 Brogue Espadrilles Creepers (NERO – Black) Size 9
  • SOLD


2. Prada Fall Winter 2011/12 Brogue Espadrilles Creepers (BRUCIATO + COBALTO – Dark Brown + Cobalt Blue) Size 9
  • SOLD

Source: In my Paradigm

Source: In my Paradigm
DESCRIPTION
Please take not that the size of these pair of shoes runs bigger. This is a true size, 9.5 UK, 10.5 US and 43.5 EURO. 
SHIPPING & PAYMENT
I will prefer to accept Cash On Delivery – collect at Southbank, Melbourne, Australia. However if you are located over states or overseas, transaction must be done through PayPal.
  • Domestic shipping to Australia – FREE – Via Australia Post Registered with Tracking + Signature service
  • International shipping to Worldwide – $85.00 – Via Australia Post Express Courier International Merchandise with Tracking service
  • Insurance – $25.00
Please contact me if you have any question by email at ask.drblogspot@gmail.com. Please do not offer me any lower prices as I would simply ignore your emails. Only ask questions that are not listed here.
Fashion

Givenchy Rottweiler & Birds of Paradise iPhone 4s Cases

29th May 2012
A good friend of mine shared this link earlier on Facebook that has caught my attention. These are the latest Givenchy Rottweiler and Birds of Paradise inspired print on iPhone 4s cases. They look fantastic and even comes with packaging and tags. The production of each design is limited to 100 pieces, and price range from $80-$100 each. The question is, are they really authentic? As I do not recall Givenchy producing Rottweiler FW2011 or Birds of Paradise SS12 Apple iPhone cases.

Source: Hidden

Givenchy Fall Winter 2011 Panther Iris iPhone 4s Case – $100

Givenchy Fall Winter 2011 Rottweiler iPhone 4s Case – $80


Givenchy Spring Summer 2012 Floral iPhone 4s Case – $100

Givenchy Spring Summer 2012 Birds of Paradise iPhone 4s Case – $100 (Also comes in Black)

(P.S. The Givenchy Birds of Paradise Spring Summer 2012 T-Shirt above is not Authentic)

Fashion

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Pre-order Sneak Peak

29th May 2012
Advance preview of Balmain Fall Winter 2012 available now for pre-order at Vertice London. 30% deposit is required for pre-order, prices of each item can be request by email or from their website.
Source: Vertice London
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Three Pack Tees
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Lion T-Shirt
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Eagle Crest T-Shirt

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Knitted Jacket – £1195 VAT. INC

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Embroidered Coat (I love this!)
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Embroidered Jacket

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Velvet Jacket

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Ribbon Waistcoat

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Nylon Quilted Jacket – £1025 VAT. INC
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Leather Biker Pants

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Waxed Canvas Biker Pants

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Waxed Embroidered Jeans
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Waxed Biker Pants
 
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Dirty Biker Trousers
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Suede & Leather High-top Sneakers (Alternative version: Black)
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Buckle Strap Leather Boots (Alternative version: Suede) – £780 VAT. INC

Source: Le Baron Luis
Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Embroidered Jacket

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Nylon Quilted Jacket – £1025 VAT. INC

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Knitted Jacket – £1195 VAT. INC

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Sweat Pants (White)

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Red Biker Pants

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Mateless Biker Jeans

 Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Mateless Leather Pants

Balmain Homme Fall Winter 2012 Suede Double Zip Pants

Fashion

Buyers Beware: Fake Givenchy Birds of Paradise T-Shirt

28th May 2012
*UPDATE – Read more about other Givenchy versions:

The success of Givenchy Fall Winter 2011 Rottweiler print has drawn huge attention in the fashion world. Some clothing retailers and manufacturers in China oversee this opportunity to replicate the famous Givenchy Rottweiler print, and sell them at 4 times cheaper than the original retail price. Consumers can easily acquire these replicated Givenchy Rottweiler T-Shirt from the infamous website, iOffer.com. iOffer.com is an online auction and shopping website in which people and businesses buy and sell a broad variety of goods worldwide. The retail concept behind iOffer is similar to eBay, except there is no buyer protection policy supported by Paypal.

Since the beginning of this year, I spotted a number of fake Givenchy Birds of Paradise T-Shirts on iOffer that were selling around $80-$130. These replicated version has a dull contrast, the BOP print is distorted and looks like it was finished with colour pencils. I am assuming the original print was ripped off from the internet via Barneys New York or LuisaViaRoma where they did an early pre-order of the $785 Birds of Paradise T-Shirt.
How do you spot an authentic and a fake Givenchy Spring Summer 2012 Birds of Paradise T-Shirt?
AUTHENTIC

Source: Mr Porter

       
Source: Barneys New York

Source: Mr Porter

Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Above here is a size S, equivalent to true size XL. Purchased from Cannes, France)
Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Above here is a size XS, equivalent to true size L. Purchased from Mr Porter)
Source: Riccardi Boston

Source: Mr Porter

Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Above here is a size S, equivalent to true size XL. Purchased from Cannes, France)


Source: drblogspot.blogspot.com (Above here is a size XS, equivalent to true size L. Purchased from Mr Porter)
The authentic version only comes in Columbian Fit, also know as Oversize. There is no Slim Fit or Regular Fit for Birds of Paradise. The smallest size of the authentic Birds of Paradise version is XS, Extra Small; equivalent to true size L. There is 3 colours for sale, Black, Ivory and Aqua (Mint). The authentic digital print on the T-Shirt is bold and rich, there is a lot of colour density in the print. The Birds of Paradise print looks sharp from a distance. It is very distinctive and attractive to ones eye.

The original measurements of the authentic version are:-
Source: Riccardi Boston
Extra Small Measurements:
Shoulders – 19 inch., Armpit – 23 inch., Length 27 inch.
Small Measurements:
Shoulders – 20 inch., Armpit – 24.5 inch., Length 27.5 inch.
Medium Measurements:
Shoulders – 20.5 inch., Armpit – 24 inch., Length 29.5 inch.
Large Measurements:
Shoulders – 21.5 inch., Armpit – 24.5 inch., Length 30.5 inch.
FAKE

The replica version comes in Slim Fit and the popular size is M, Medium. There is no Oversize fit for this replicated version. The only available sizes are M, L, and XL. There are two colours of the replicated Birds of Paradise, which is White and Black – Recent Copy. The print is distorted and the Birds of Paradise does not have a strong vivid structure like the authentic version. It looks flimsy, as if the print is about to collapse from far. The colours are very dull, and looks like it was coloured with pencil. The Givenchy signature black star on the left shoulder is cropped as a result of defective replication in design (Take notice on all the replica versions).
The original measurements of the replica version are:-
Source: iOffer
Medium Measurements:
Shoulders – 42 cm, Armpits – 96 cm, Length – 70 cm
Large Measurements:
Shoulders – 44 cm, Armpits – 100 cm, Length – 72 cm
Extra Large Measurements:
Shoulders – 46 cm, Armpits – 104 cm, Length – 74 cm
Beware there are many replica versions of the Givenchy Birds of Paradise now on eBay. Most of these are on auction to tempt potential buyers into bidding. Do not be tempted to bid on it as they are not authentic. If you are one of the unfortunate buyer who bought a replica version recently from eBay, you may still have a chance to file a case on Paypal and claim for full refund. Paypal and eBay has strong policies that protects buyers against replicated designer goods in eBay.
If you are unsure about purchasing on eBay, try other websites like Barneys New York, Mr Porter, Riccardi Boston and Bergdorf Goodman. BG has sales now on the Birds of Paradise T-Shirt ($471 mark down from $785). Generally I would advice everyone to avoid buying high-end designer goods on eBay as there are many replicated versions floating around the website. If you file for a Paypal claim, it will take around 30-45 days to get back your money back, it would not be worth the trouble. And most of the time, Paypal requires the buyer to pay for return postage fees which will occur to further lost on the buyer.

The imitation copy has printing defects, I presume that there is only one manufacturer out there producing these fake Givenchy Spring Summer 2012 Birds of Paradise T-Shirt.

These images below are taken from eBay. I have disclosed the seller’s information, these sellers has a range of 10-300 positive feedback. Although they seem trustworthy they are not. You can easily tell they are not genuine by careful observation. The listing states that they are 100% Authentic when they are not, I have highlighted the main errors.

Other imitation versions produced elsewhere in the world. These versions has less obvious printing error but devastating colours.
Below here is a imitation version found from a Canadian seller on eBay.

Below here, various imitation versions found from an Italian seller on eBay.